Hobbled

Another post about buying stuff, of course. These pics are from December, actually, but: Here are some boots I wanted to buy for Firstborn – cute, and zip-up so she might actually manage them herself:

Until I saw the soles:

Seriously? In Scotland, in winter, for a child of four? No grip at all?

So we got her these:

Which obviously were from the “boys” section of the shop.

It isn’t the first time I’ve notices that shoes marketed to girls often have no tread on the sole, but with winter boots it seems even more marked.

I don’t think there’s much more I need to say about it than that. If little girls try to run or climb, they clearly deserve to fall and be taught a lesson.

3 Responses to Hobbled

  1. I know exactly what you mean, I often shop for our daughter’s shoes in the ‘boys’ because they are almost always more comfortable and practical, for you know anything but looking ‘pretty’.

  2. seenonflickr says:

    No grip? Ridiculous.

  3. […] Hobbled “It isn’t the first time I’ve notices that shoes marketed to girls often have no tread on the sole, but with winter boots it seems even more marked. I don’t think there’s much more I need to say about it than that. If little girls try to run or climb, they clearly deserve to fall and be taught a lesson.” […]

Leave a Reply

